Friday, March 29, 2013

Scorned Justice

This week, the
Christian Fiction Blog Alliance
is introducing
Scorned Justice
Abingdon Press (April 1, 2013)
Margaret Daley


Margaret Daley is an award winning, multi-published author in the romance genre. One of her romantic suspense books, Hearts on the Line, won the American Christian Fiction Writers’ Book of the Year Contest. Recently she has won the Golden Quill Contest, FHL’s Inspirational Readers’ Choice Contest, Winter Rose Contest, Holt Medallion and the Barclay Gold Contest. She wrote for various secular publishers before the Lord led her to the Christian romance market. She currently writes inspirational romance and romantic suspense books for the Steeple Hill Love Inspired lines, romantic suspense for Abingdon Press and historical romance for Summerside Press. She has sold eighty-three books to date.

Margaret was the president of American Christian Fiction Writers (ACFW), an organization of Christia writers with over 2300 members. She was one of the founding members of the first ACFW local chapter, WIN in Oklahoma. She has taught numerous classes for online groups, ACFW and RWA chapters. She enjoys mentoring other authors.

Until she retired a few years ago, she was a teacher of students with special needs for twenty-seven years and volunteered with Special Olympics as a coach. She currently is on the Outreach committee at her church, working on several projects in her community as well as serving on her church’s vestry.

On a more personal note, she has been married for over forty years to Mike and has one son and four granddaughters. She treasures her time with her family and friends.


Texas Ranger Brody Calhoun is with his parents in west Texas when an unexpected attack injures the brother of Rebecca Morgan, Brody's high school sweetheart. The local sheriff, a good friend, asks for Brody's help. At first, it seems like an open-and-shut case. However, as Brody digs deeper, he realizes the attack may be related to an organized crime trial Rebecca will be overseeing. With Rebecca's help, he compiles evidence which involves cattle rustlers, bribery, and dirty payoffs that shatter the entire community and put Rebecca directly in the line of fire.

If you would like to read the first chapter of Scorned Justice, go HERE.

Book Review

The older I get the pickier about books I become.   So when I say this you can know that I mean it:  Go get this book!   Margaret Daley has been added to my favorite authors list.   What is my favorite authors list?   I have a list of authors that I have internet alerts created so that when they release new books I receive an email.    I just know that it is going to be good.  

There were two books before Scorned Justice in the Texas Rangers series.   Do you have to read them to enjoy this book?  No.  Do you want to read them?  Yes!     As the series title suggests, there is a Texas Ranger that is the hero in each book.   Not your Chuck Norris type Texas Ranger.   A believable type Texas Ranger.   *smile*

The story line is filled with intrigue and suspense which makes it difficult to put the book down after you start reading.   i.e. Bad decision to start reading this one at 10:30 at night!

I am not sure if I am anxiously awaiting the the last book in this series, Severed Trust, or mourning the fact that this series is ending way too soon.  

Thanks to CFBA for providing a complimentary copy of this book as well as the previous books for me to read for this review.

No comments: