Monday, December 13, 2010

2010 INSPY Awards Announced

It was an honor to be one of the INSPY award judges this year.      I was asked to read five books in the romance/romantic suspense category.       At the appointed date, the five judges in this category met online to begin discussing the five books we had read.        It was a great week of dissecting these books.    We evaluated everything about them from literary content, faith content, and story line.   

At the end of much discussion, we all agreed that the book we believed should be chosen as the 2010 Romance/Romantic Suspence INSPY Award winner is Sons of Thunder by Susan May Warren.     With the amount of discussion that was generated by this book, I think this would make a great book club book.

Tonight the INSPY committee released the total list of winners.     Congratulations to all the authors for these excellent books!

The INSPY Award winners are:

Crossing Oceans by Gina Holmes, General and Literary Fiction (Tyndale House)
Evolving in Monkey Town by Rachel Held Evans, Creative Nonfiction (Zondervan)
She Walks in Beauty by Siri Mitchell, Historical Fiction (Bethany House)
The Knight by Steven James, Thriller/Suspense/Crime Fiction (Revell)
Green by Ted Dekker, Speculative Fiction (Thomas Nelson)
Plain Paradise by Beth Wiseman, Amish Fiction (Thomas Nelson)
Sons of Thunder by Susan May Warren, Romance/Romantic Suspense (Summerside)
Once Was Lost by Sara Zarr, Young Adult Fiction (Little, Brown)

The 2010 INSPY Awards cover books published from July 2009 through June 2010.

No comments: